Baltimore Catholic League honors new Hall of Fame class (VIDEO HERE!!)

Pictured above: The Baltimore Catholic League’s 2018 Hall of Fame Class (from left to right) Bob Fornoff (Archbishop Curley), Quintin Moody (Cardinal Gibbons), Mark Scallion (St. Maria Goretti), Tedd Walker (Towson Catholic), Jake Davalli (Calvert Hall College), Jim “Snuffy” Smith (former BCL Comissioner), Shawn Hampton (St. Frances Academy), Kenny Johnson (Loyola Blakefield), Delmar Harrd (Mount St. Joseph), and Mike Daniel (Towson Catholic).

by Derek Toney

Photos by Jimmy Fields Sr.

The Baltimore Catholic League inducted 11 members into its Hall of Fame in front of nearly 400 at Turf Valley Thursday evening.

Former standouts Jake Davalli (Calvert Hall College), Bob Fornoff (Archbishop Curley), Shawn Hampton (St. Frances Academy), Delmar Harrod (Mount St. Joseph), Kenny Johnson (Loyola Blakefield) Quintin Moody (Cardinal Gibbons), Mark Scallion (St. Maria Goretti) and Teddy Walker (Towson Catholic) were honored along with former Towson Catholic coach Mike Daniel and Jim “Snuffy” Smith, who was the first official BCL Commissioner.

Dick Dohler, who starred for Mount St. Joseph in the 1960s before the formation of the BCL, was also inducted.

Guest speaker, UMBC coach Ryan Odom, drew a standing ovation. Odom guided the Retrievers to a historic victory in the recent NCAA Tournament as the Catonsville school became the first No. 16 seed to defeat a No. 1 seed (Virginia).

Odom, who’s assistant Eric Skeeters, was an assistant under BCL Hall of Fame Coach William Wells at St. Frances Academy in the late 1990s, commended senior Jourdan Grant, a former star at Archbishop Spalding, who graciously accepted a reserve role last two seasons after starting 51 games in his first two seasons.

“He epitomized what our team was about,” said Odom. “We all had to sacrifice and do what’s best for the overall group.”

The BCL now has 60 members in its Hall of Fame, which started back in 2011.

Started in 1972, the BCL is regarded as one of the nation’s premier high school boys’ basketball leagues.