St. Paul’s, the co-No. 1 in the latest Maryland State Wrestling Association state wrestling rankings (with Mount St. Joseph), hosted Gilman in a MIAA A Conference dual meet, Wednesday, and defeated the Greyhounds, 53-27.

The match opened at 106 and Will Guida got the Crusaders rolling with a second period pin of Andy Weinstein, before the state’s top-ranked 106-pounder, Kurt McHenry, accepted a forfeit for St. Paul’s at 113.

The Crusaders forfeited 120 to Gilman’s Matt Gallo, before the wrestling resume at 126. There, second-ranked Daniel Planta of St. Paul’s claimed a 45-second pin of Cam Ward and the Crusaders’ Sam Salishman followed with a 7-6 decision over Drew Franklin at 132.

The evening’s marque match was at 138 where Gilman’s third-ranked Braeden Alevazatos edged 5th-ranked Imran Heard, 5-4. Heard got the match’s initial takedown, but Alevazatos rallied to take a 3-2 lead, with an escape and a takedown, at the end of one period. Neither wrestler scored in the second period. In the third, Alevazatos went up 4-2 with an escape, but Heard scored another takedown to square things. Alevazatos got what proved to be the winning point, with an escape in the final 20 seconds and survived as Heard could not finish a double-leg shot as time expired.

St. Paul’s clinched things over the next four matches as Everette McDuffie won by decision at 145, Dylan Blau (ranked No. 13 at 145) won 16-1 at 152, and Dominic Piazza (160) and second-ranked Dale Tiongson (170) picked up pins.

Gilman’s Alex Slodzinksi pinned Collin Martin at 182, in 31 seconds before the teams traded forfeits at 195 and 220. Gilman’s John Mandel (85) won the evening’s final match, pinning Logan Johnson at 1:15.

106: Will Guida (SP) fall Andy Weinstein, 3:04
113: Kurt McHenry (SP) won by forfeit
120: Matthew Gallo (GIL) won by forfeit
126: Daniel Planta (SP) fall Cam Ward, 0:45
132: Sam Salishman (SP) dec. Drew Franklin, 7-6
138: Braedon Alevazatos (GIL) dec. Imran Heard, 5-4
145: Everett McDuffie (SP) dec. David Gushue, 8-1
152: Dylan Blau (SP) sup. dec. Gus Caiola, 16-1
160: Dominic Piazza (SP) pinned Owen Dunn, 3:49
170: Dale Tiongson (SP) pinned Frank Davis, 1:48
182: Alex Slodzinski (GIL) pinned Collin Martin, 0:31
195: Noah Kalshman (GIL) won by forfeit
220: John Urban (SP) won by forfeit
285: John Mandel (GIL) fall Logan Johnson, 1:15