Under Armour underclassmen lacrosse tournament changes format due to COVID-19 restrictions

by Nelson Coffin

Meadowood Regional Park in Lutherville will be the host site for the South Super Region for underclassmen vying for an Under Armour All-America Lacrosse Classic title, Aug. 6-7, according to a recently revised plan to deal with concerns about the COVID-19 pandemic.

The South Region will feature teams with high school players from Baltimore, Washington, D.C. and the South (mainly players from the Carolinas to Florida) in four divisions for boys and girls.

There will be no overall champions, at least until a playoff between the other Super Region winners from the North (Upstate NY, Long Island
and New England), East (Philadelphia, New Jersey and Connecticut/NY) and West (West, Southwest and Midwest) can be arranged at a later date in the fall, owing to virus restrictions.

“This has proven to be a unique year that demanded a creative solution to provide the nation’s most talented high school players with an opportunity to compete,” Lee Corrigan, president of Corrigan Sports, said. “We feel these adjustments help provide a safe environment for the players to test their skills against the best in their region on a big stage. The revised format hopefully offers the potential to compete in additional games during the fall recruiting period as well.”

Three of the four Baltimore teams claimed overall championships last year, including the boys and girls Highlight squads (for rising juniors and seniors) and the girls Command (rising freshmen and sophomores).

This year’s local teams feature a wide array of promising Baltimore players.

Listed below are the players selected to be members of the teams representing Baltimore Metro Area schools.

St. Mary’s, midfielders Teddy Androus and Erik Chick and attackman Nick Gilini; Gilman, defenseman Sean Collins and midfielder Stephen Fulchino; Loyola Blakefield, attackman Own Dixon, longstick midfielder Thomas Lala and midfielder Brendan Bateman; McDonogh, defenseman Paul McLucas and attackman McCabe Millon; Severna Park, goalie Ashby Shepherd; St. Paul’s, attackman Michael Smyth; Glenelg Country School, defenseman Sam Palmisano; Severn, midfielder Nick Sotiropoulos and attackman Jacob Todd; Calvert Hall, midfielders Joshua Nagy, Wyatt Hottle and Ian Johns, longstick midfielder Bradley Johnson and attackman Joshua Kelly.

Catonsville, defenseman James Azbill and midfielder Chris Huppmann; St. Mary’s, midfielder Will Brimhall, defenseman Colin Burlace and goalie Westin Schmidt; Gilman, attackman Charlie Pope; Mount Hebron, midfielder Cameron Stockenberg; Boys’ Latin, midfielder Mackenzie Moreland; Calvert Hall, defenseman Brian King and attackman Truitt Sunderland; McDonogh, midfielders Matt NcMillen, Jack Dudas and Hugh Brown and longstick midfielder Jonny Cool; Loyola Blakefield, goalie Jack Webb and midfielders Hayden Miller and Liam Crouse and defenseman AJ Larkin.

St. Paul’s School for Girls, midfielders Natalie Shurtleff and Kira Balis and attacker Lauren Steer; Marriotts Ridge, midfielder Maisy Clevenger; Century, midfielder Jasmine Stanton; Severna Park, defender Alyssa Chung; North Harford, goalie Alyssa Edwards; Glenelg, midfielder Isabela Torres and attacker Lauren LaPointe; St. Mary’s, midfielder Camryn Pfundstein; McDonogh, midfielder Paige Johnston; Maryvale, defender Kayla Wehberg and midfielder Samantha Paradise; Glenelg Country, midfielder Blair Byrne and attacker Regan Byrne; Notre Dame Prep, attacker Elizabeth Kane and midfielder Ellie White; Bryn Mawr, defender Lexi Reber, goalie Julia Suriano and midfielder Reese Woodworth.

Bryn Mawr, midfielder Shayna Brodman, St. Paul’s School for Girls midfielder Christine Gagnon and defender Paris Colgain; St. Mary’s, midfielder Gracie Driggs; McDonogh, attacker Caroline Godine and midfielders Dakota Uy and Kori Edmondson; Southern-AA, goalie Elyse Finnelle; Century, midfielder Demma Hall; John Carroll, midfielder Madison Sterling and defender Ellie Hollin; Arundel, midfielder Caroline Keane, Glenelg, goalie Jocelyn Torres and attacker Emma Kennedy; Gerstell Academy, defender Kennedy Major ; Bryn Mawr, midfielder Adair Martin; Mount de Sales, attacker Mia Rehkemper ; Maryvale, attacker Payton Rowley; Archbishop Spalding, midfielder Isabella Saviano; Glenelg Country School, midfielder Maggie Weisman; ; Dulaney, midfielder Sammy White; Fallston, defender Juliana Williams.