It’s down to four teams at the St. Paul’s School Summer League as Ben Franklin-Masonville, Largo, New Town and Patterson advance after Monday’s opening play.

The ninth-seeded Clippers ruined Poly’s perfect run in the Brooklandville league with a 43-40 victory. The reigning Class 3A state champions pulled away from No. 8 Oakland Mills in the opening round, going on a 28-9 run in the second half.

During the winter season, Poly knocked off then-No. 1 Patterson in double overtime. The Clippers lost only one more decision (Dunbar in Baltimore City Division I finals) en route to the state championship.

Monday’s summer match, featuring most of the remaining players off last season’s rosters including Seton Hall University recruit and two-time reigning VSN player of the Year Aquille Carr and Poly’s fast-rising junior guard John Crosby, didn’t disappoint. The Clippers itched away late before Poly missed a game-tying three-pointer at the buzzer.

In the late semifinals Wednesday, Patterson will take on Prince George’s County Largo. The Lions also worked through the bracket Monday with victories over No. 12 Pikesville and fourth-seeded Cristo Rey.

Largo and Patterson aren’t strangers, matching up last season at the Basketball Academy at Lake Clifton. The Clippers outlasted the Lions in a high-scoring affair. 

With only five players, New Town routed Atholton in the opening round. The Titans advanced directly into the semifinals as John Carroll School, the No. 3 seed, withdrew late Sunday due to lack of players.

With most of its players out of town on the AAU circuit, No. 2 seed Ben Franklin-Masonville Academy got past No. 10 Old Mill. The Patriots from Anne Arundel County eliminated No. 7 Calvert Hall College earlier in the evening. 

Ben Franklin-Masonville takes on New Town in the first semifinal Wednesday at 7 p.m. The championship finale is Thursday at 8 p.m.

St. Paul’s Summer League Playoffs

Tuesday’s results

First round

No. 5 seed Largo 57, No. 12 Pikesville 30

No. 9 Patterson 61, No. 8 Oakland Mills 42

No. 6 New Town 60, No. 11 Atholton 33

No. 10 Old Mill 50, No. 7 Calvert Hall 43


No. 9 Patterson 43, No. 1 Poly 40

No. 5 Largo 41, No. 4 Cristo Rey 31

No. 2 Ben Franklin-Masonville 41, No. 10 Old Mill 40

Playoffs schedule

Wednesday July 25


New Town (6-3) vs. Ben Franklin-Masonville (8-1), 7 p.m.

Patterson (7-3) vs. Largo (7-3), 8 p.m.

Thursday July 26


New Town/Ben Franklin-Masonville winner vs. Patterson/Largo winner, 8 p.m.