Former DeMatha and Illinois star led the Panthers to the 2016 MIAA B title

St. Vincent Pallotti head football coach Ian Thomas has stepped down after three years at the helm of the Panthers’ program.
Thomas had a career record of 17-16 and led Pallotti to the MIAA B Conference playoffs in two of his three seasons. In 2016, under Thomas, the Panthers won the B Conference championship with a 10-2 record defeating Boys’ Latin in the title game. Coach Thomas was also named the 2016 MIAA Baltimore Touchdown Club Coach of the year.
Several of Thomas’ players have gone on or will be going on to play college football. They include Justin Mulbah (Buffalo), Jaret Patterson (Buffalo), James Patterson (Buffalo), Cam Sullivan-Brown (Penn State), Tyler Hamilton (Maryland), Zack Roski (Maryland), Devon Ferguson (Kansas), Jelani Foster (Buffalo), Lawrence Tucker (Shepherd), Brandon Stewart (Catawba), Warren Dixon (UNC Central) and Aaron Gilbert (UNC Central).
“I would like to return to coaching at some point, but needed a break,” said Thomas, who will remain at Pallotti as the physical education and health teacher for the remainder of the school year.