Baltimore Catholic League honors award recipients (VIDEO HERE!)

Spalding junior forward Cameron Whitmore (left) poses with his Baltimore Catholic League Player of the Year Award with coach Josh Pratt.

by Derek Toney

The Baltimore Catholic League managed to have – albeit shortened – its 50th anniversary season in the late winter. Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, the BCL did not have its traditional awards luncheon, but Wednesday evening inside of Calvert Hall’s Alumni Memorial Gymnasium, the award winners were officially recognized in a brief ceremony.

Archbishop Spalding junior forward Cameron Whitmore was the Baltimore Catholic League’s Player of the Year. He’s the first Cavalier player to be named the BCL’s top player since Rudy Gay in 2004. 

Whitmore, 6-foot-6, is the first underclassmen selected the Jerry Savage Award recipient (BCL Player of the Year) since former Mount St. Joseph and University of Maryland star Jalen Smith in 2017. He was joined on the BCL first-team by Khyrie Staten and freshman Derik Queen from St. Frances, Deon Perry (Our Lady of Mount Carmel), D’Angelo Stines from Mount St. Joseph and John Carroll School’s Jalen Bryant, who helped the Patriots to the BCL Tournament championship as the No. 6 seed. 

St. Frances coach Nick Myles was selected the Ray O. Mullis recipient as Coach of the Year. Myles, who was previously selected in 2018, guided the East Baltimore school to its record 11th regular season championship.

Loyola Blakefield’s Gavin Walsh was named Most Improved Player (Cokey Robertson Award). Our Lady of Mount Carmel center Kevin Kalu won Defensive Player of the Year (Mark Amatucci Award).


2021 BCL Award Honorees (from left to right): Gavin Walsh (Loyola), BCL Commissioner Jack Degele, St. Frances coach Nick Myles, Kevin Kalu (Mount Carmel) and Cameron Whitmore (Archbishop Spalding)

Player of the Year (Jerry Savage Award) – Cameron Whitmore, Archbishop Spalding

Defensive Player of the Year (Mark Amatucci Award) – Kevin Kalu, Our Lady of Mount Carmel

Most Improved Player (Cokey Robertson Award) – Gavin Walsh, Loyola Blakefield

Coach of the Year (O. Ray Mullis Award) – Nick Myles, St. Frances Academy

2021 BCL first-team (left to right): Jalen Bryant (John Carroll), Mike Williams (Calvert Hall), Deon Perry (Mount Carmel), BCL Commissioner Jack Degele, Khyrie Staten (St. Frances) and Derik Queen (St. Frances). Not pictured – D’Angelo Stines (Mount St. Joseph)


Jalen Bryant, John Carroll School, senior

Deon Perry, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, junior

Derik Queen, St. Frances Academy, freshman

Khyrie Staten, St. Frances Academy, senior

D’Angelo Stines, Mount St. Joseph, senior

Mike Williams, Calvert Hall College, sophomore

2021 BCL second-team (left to right): Cam Smith (Loyola), Gavin Walsh (Loyola), BCL Commissioner Jack Degele, Kevin Kalu (Mount Carmel), Toby Nnandozie (Mount Carmel). Not pictured – Julian Reese (St. Frances) and Bryson Tucker (Mount St. Joseph).


Kevin Kalu, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, senior

Toby Nnadozie, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, senior

Julian Reese, St. Frances Academy, senior

Cam Smith, Loyola Blakefield, senior

Bryson Tucker, Mount St. Joseph, freshman

Gavin Walsh, Loyola Blakefield, junior

Honorable mention – Tyson Commander, John Carroll School; Ausar Crawley, Mount St. Joseph; Jordan Green, St. Maria Goretti; Vincent Payne, St. Maria Goretti; Jordan Pennick, Archbishop Spalding; Ty Peterson, Archbishop Spalding; Cesar Tchilombo, John Carroll School

Dave Kropfelder “Never, Never Quit” Awards – Chris Abissi, St. Maria Goretti; Jalen Bouknight, Archbishop Spalding; Sean Carr, Mount St. Joseph; John Dixon, Loyola Blakefield; Jaiden Jakubowski, John Carroll School; Dominick McKinney-George, Our Lady of Mount Carmel; Caleb Obannon, St. Frances Academy; Jason Ogbolu, Calvert Hall College