No. 3 John Carroll visited Calvert Hall, Tuesday night, for a MIAA A Conference wrestling tri-meet with the host Cardinals and St. Mary’s, and the Patriots flexed their muscles with a couple of big victories.

John Carroll collected six pins in defeating Calvert Hall, 53-24.  The match opened at 138, where Matt Wagner got the Cardinals on the board with a pin of Brian Chambers, in 5:55.  Calvert followed with a forfeit win at 145, but John Carroll collected points in 10 of the final 12 weight classes to roll to victory.

Christian Almony (160), Andy Reineger (220), Mike McCabe (106), Chad Skokowski (120), Zach Dwyer (126) and Steven Jernigan (132) all won by fall for John Carroll.

Austin Ross (152)  and Eric Ashton (113) added a major decision for the Patriots and Christian Scott (182) decisioned his opponent.  John Carroll star Hunter Ritter (195) was also handed a forfeit.

Chris Stephan (285) captured Calvert Hall’s other victory with a pin of Ricky Deny at 285.  The Cardinals also collected a forfeit victory at 170.

Calvert Hall’s victory over St. Mary’s was marked by six forfeit wins, providing the Cardinals an easy path to a 61-18 team decision.

Wagner (138), Alex Crum (16) and Henry Chaudron (195) had pins for Calvert Hall.  The Cardinals added a major decision from Alex Seivold (145) and decision by Nick Donatelli (220).

Nathaniel Brown (132), Garrett Lanzoni (170) and Bryce Pappas were winners by fall for St. Mary’s, accounting for all of the Saints’ points.

138: Matt Wagner (CH) pinned Brian Chalmers (JC), 5:55
145: Austin Seivold (CH) won by forf.
152: Austin Ross (JC) maj. dec. Noah Koski (CH), 8-0
160: Christian Almony (JC) pinned Dylan Barber (CH), 0:27 170: Alex Crum (CH) won by forf.
182: Christian Scott (JC) dec. Joe Scott (CH), 6-1
195: Hunter Ritter (JC) won by forf.
220: Andy Reineger (JC) pinned Nick Donatelli (CH), 1:21 285: Chris Stephan (CH) pinned Ricky Denu (JC), 3:46
106: Mike McCabe (JC) pinned Nick Fink (CH), 5:06
113: Eric Ashton (JC) maj. dec. Ben Koski (CH), 13-0
120: Chad Skokowksi (JC) pinned Mitchell Beverage (CH), 2:35
126: Zach Dwyer (JC) pinned Jordan Huey (CH), 2:23
132: Steven Jernigan (JC) pinned Matt Lambdin (CH), 1:51

132: Nathaniel Brown (SM) pinned Matt Lambdin (CH), 5:55
138: Matt Wagner (CH) pinned Vaughters Luke (SM), 3:43
145: Austin Seivold (CH) maj. dec. Chase Pappas (SM), 17-6
152: Noah Koski (CH) won by forf.
160: Alex Crum (CH) pinned Mike Van Slyke (SM), 3:14
170: Garrett Lanzoni (SM) pinned Joe Scott (CH), 5:59
182: Bryce Pappas (SM) pinned Dalton Negm (CH), 3:51
195: Henry Chaudron (CH) pinned Kiteley Brendan (SM), 2:24
220: Nick Donatelli (CH) dec. Jackson Slotterback (SM), 8-6 285: Chris Stephan (CH) won by forf.
106: Nick Fink (CH) won by forf.
113: Ben Koski (CH) won by forf.
120: Mitchell Beverage (CH) won by forf.
126: Jordan Huey (CH) won by forf.