Nicky Petkevich from Bullis School was named the “Best High School Lacrosse Player in the State of Maryland,” winning the C. Markland Kelly Award Sunday evening at Navy-Marine Corps Stadium.

Petkevich, a Colgate University-bound midfielder, was selected by a committee chosen from the Maryland State Lacrosse Coaches Association. Forty-six private and public school boys’ lacrosse players were nominated this year – the largest field ever.

“It feels amazing. I really didn’t expect it to be me with all the great players from Baltimore and the public schools,” said Petkevich. “To have that honor is really great, especially for Bullis.”

Petkevich posted 62 goals and 24 assists for the Montgomery County private school that claimed its first Interstate Athletic Conference title this spring. The Bulldogs (21-2 overall), ranked No. 3 nationally by Inside Lacrosse, were the only team to defeat McDonogh School – Baltimore’s consensus No. 1 and Inside Lacrosse’s national No. 2 team – this season.

Jackson Morrill, who guided the Eagles to their first MIAA A Conference championship since 2005, was selected the top player among private schools in the North region of the state. Petkevich was named the South winner before receiving the top honor.

In addition to the top honor, companion awards were made in each high school division. Fallston junior attack Dylan Wolf was the top player in the Class 2A/1A public, Mount Hebron goalie Casey DuBois won for 3A/2A and Severna Park senior midfielder Ethan Carr was the 4A/3A recipient.

70th C. Markland Kelly Awards

C. Markland Kelly Award – Nicky Petkevich, Bullis School

Private Schools North – Jackson Morrill, McDonogh School

Private Schools South – Nicky Petkevich, Bullis

Class 4A/3A – Ethan Carr, Severna Park

Class 3A/2A– Casey DuBois, Mount Hebron

Class 2A/1A – Dylan Wolf, Fallston

Wynn Award (State’s top goalie) – Casey DuBois, Mount Hebron

Private High School Coach of the Year – Jeff Bellistri, Bullis School

Public High School Coach of the Year – Dave Earl, Severna Park

College Coach of the Year – Jim Berkman, Salisbury University

Man of the Year – Jason Bellamy, Patterson Mill

Public High School Team of the Year – Severna Park

Private High School Team of the Year – Bullis School

MSLCA Hall of Fame inductees – Jon Garman (Friends School), Jake Reed (McDonogh School/Dulaney), Mike Siegert (Centennial), Nolan Sothoron (St. Mary’s Ryken)

2016 Kelly Award recipients (from left to right): Casey DuBois (Mount Hebron; Class 3A/2A), Dylan Wolf (Fallston; Class 2A/1A);, Jackson Morrill (McDonogh School; Private Schools North) and Nick Petkevich (Bullis School; Private Schools South & Overall Winner); Note – Ethan Carr (Severna Park; Class 4A/3A) did not attend