For the second straight year, the “Best High School Lacrosse Player in the State of Maryland,” resides outside the Baltimore region. Alex Trippi from Bullis School was selected the 71st recipient of the C. Markland Kelly Award Sunday evening at Navy-Marine Corps Stadium.

Trippi, an University of North Carolina-bound attack, was selected by a committee chosen from the Maryland State Lacrosse Coaches Association. Forty-four private and public school boys’ lacrosse players were nominated this year.

Trippi is the second straight Bullis player to claim the prestigious honor. Nicky Petkevich (Colgate) was the 2016 recipient. It’s the fourth time a school had back-to-back winners. The last occurence was in 2013 and 2014 respectively, with former Boys’ Latin standouts Colin Heacock (Maryland) and Shack Stanwick (Johns Hopkins).

“It’s a huge honor, but Coach [Jeff] Bellistri and my parents really helped pave the way for me,” said Trippi. “It’s a testament to the hard work I put in all through high school.”

Trippi became Bullis’ all-time leading scorer this spring as the Montgomery County private school (18-3 overall) currently ranks 11th nationally by Inside Lacrosse, USA Today and U.S. Lacrosse. Bullis lost twice to Landon School, the nation’s No. 1 squad by U.S. Lacrosse and Inside Lacrosse, and MIAA A finalist McDonogh School this season.

Jacob Kelly, who guided Calvert Hall College to its first MIAA A Conference championship since 2012, was selected the top player among private schools in the North region of the state. Trippi was named the South winner before receiving the top honor.

In addition to the top honor, companion awards were made in each high school division. Fallston senior attack Dylan Wolf was the top player in the Class 2A/1A public for the second straight year, Hereford junior defensemen Scott Middleton won for 3A/2A and Severna Park senior attack Trevor Patschorke was the 4A/3A recipient.

71st C. Markland Kelly Awards

C. Markland Kelly Award – Alex Trippi, Bullis School

Private Schools North – Jacob Kelly, Calvert Hall College

Private Schools South – Alex Trippi, Bullis

Class 4A/3A – Trevor Patschorke, Severna Park

Class 3A/2A – Scott Middleton, Hereford

Class 2A/1A – Dylan Wolf, Fallston

Wynn Award (State’s top goalie) – Alex Rode, St. Paul’s

Private High School Coach of the Year – Rob Bordley, Landon School

Public High School Coach of the Year – Joe Casalino, Northern-Calvert

College Coach of the Year – John Tillman, University of Maryland

Man of the Year – Dennis Keenan, Easton

Public High School Team of the Year – Severna Park

Private High School Team of the Year – Landon School

High School Team of the Year – Calvert Hall College

MSLCA Hall of Fame inductees – John Grubb, North Harford

2017 Kelly Award recipients (from left to right): Jacob Kelly (Calvert Hall College; Private Schools North), Dylan Wolf (Fallston; Class 2A/1A); Alex Trippi (Bullis School; Private Schools South & Overall Winner); Trevor Patschorke (Severna Park; Class 4A/3A) and Scott Middleton (Hereford; Class 3A/2A)