Gaels push all 14 wrestlers into the semis, McDonogh is second with 11 semifinalists

by Billy Loverocket

Mount St. Joseph appeared to be the favorite to win the team title at the MIAA wrestling tournament this weekend at the Smith Center on the campus of St. Joe. Afterall, the Gaels beat both McDonogh and St. Paul’s in dual meets this year. When action ceased on Friday night St. Joe was on its way to fulfilling that prophecy with a 29.5-point lead over the Eagles, 134-104.5.

All 14 Gaels reached the semifinals, Frank Antonelli (106), Chris Barnabae (113), Clement Woods (120), Nathan Porter (126), Connor Strong (132), Seth Fillers (138), Chris Roybal (145), Zach Phillips (152), Jonathan Short (160), Justin Henry (170), David Schultz (182), Austin Stith (195), Keagan Rill (220), and Isaac Righter (285).

The only head-to-head meetings with McDonogh will be at 152 and 182. Phillips will meet Alex LaVeck ,who he beat 11-10 in the dual meet this season. Schultz will see Jack Wimmer who he has a career 5-1 edge over.

The Eagles other semifinalists are Cooper Flynn (106), Sean Scott (126), Ray Kable (132), Harrison Trahan (145), Dominic Solis (160), Garrett Kappes (170), Jackson Bonitz (195), Parker Robinson (220), and PJ Mustipher (285).

St. Paul’s sits in third place with 90 points and eight wrestlers in the semis, Will Guida (106), Kurt McHenry (120), Gene Quodala (126), Nick Dintino (132), Imran Heard (138), Max Hammond (145), Dylan Blau (160), and Jack Parr (182).

Archbishop Spalding is just a point and a half behind the Crusaders (88.5) on the strength of placing nine wrestlers in the semifinals, Mitch Garretson (132), PJ Truntich (120), Sam Smirnoff (126), Rick Couch (132), Nick Paolucci (138), Ryan Garretson (145), Garrett Fisk (152), Tyler Savage (160), and Dustin Bradford (170).

The Cavaliers and Crusaders will only meet at 138 with Heard squaring off against Paolucci.

On Saturday, wrestling resumes with the semifinal round at 9:00 a.m. and finals get underway at 1:00 p.m.

Team Scores (top 10):
1-Mt. St. Joe 134
2-McDonogh 104.5
3-St. Paul’s 90
4-Archbishop Spalding 88.5
5-Loyola 56.5
6-Archbishop Curley 44
7-Gilman 37
Tie-John Carroll 37
9-Boys’ Latin 31
10-Mt. Carmel 27

Quarterfinal results:
106 Wil Guida (St. Pauls) F Amadou Ndiaye (Boys Latin), 1:29
106 Frankie Antonelli (Mt St Joseph) DEC Andy Weinstein (Gilman), 6-2
106 Staki Gourgoulianis (John Carroll) F Zach O’brocki (Calvert Hall), 2:00
106 Cooper Flynn (McDonogh) F James Hull (St. Marys), 1:20

113 Chris Barnabae (Mt St Joseph) F Damon Hawkins (St. Vincent Pal), 0:29
113 Adrian Triquero (Archbishop Curl) DEC Earl Chambers (St. Marys), 10-5
113 Mitch Garretson (Archbishop Spal) F Brett Stoll (Loyola), 0:45
113 Tyler Trout (Mt. Carmel) F Justin Kagen (Boys Latin), 1:59

120 Kurt Mchenry (St. Pauls) F Joey Conte (St. Marys), 3:28
120 Deshawn Strand (Loyola) DEC Matt Lawrence (McDonogh), 3-2
120 Clement Woods (Mt St Joseph) F Sam Bruce (Severn), 3:39
120 Paul Truntich (Archbishop Spal) F Ray Smythe (Archbishop Curl), 0:23

126 Nathan Porter (Mt St Joseph) F Cam Ward (Gilman), 1:09
126 Gene Quodala (St. Pauls) DEC Billy Trout (Mt. Carmel), 6-5
126 Sam Smirnoff (Archbishop Spal) F Patrick Ruland (St. Marys), 1:00
126 Sean Scott (McDonogh) MD Ryan Eby (Loyola), 14-3

132 Ray Kable (McDonogh) F Sean Martin (Mt. Carmel), 1:00
132 Nick Dintino (St. Pauls) DEC Matt Mitrega (John Carroll), 8-1
132 Rick Couch (Archbishop Spal) DEC Ryan Thomas (Loyola), 8-2
132 Connor Strong (Mt St Joseph) F Laz Friedberg (Gerstell), 1:00

138 Imran Heard (St. Pauls) F Sam Houghton (St. Marys), 2:54
138 Nick Paolucci (Archbishop Spal) TF Brad Labella (Severn), 17-2 6:00
138 Josh Aybar (Loyola) TF Lance Kevin (Friends), 19-1 4:29
138 Seth Fillers (Mt St Joseph) F Rami Tadros (Gerstell), 2:47

145 Ryan Garretson (Archbishop Spal) F David Gushue (Gilman), 2:37
145 Christopher Roybal (Mt St Joseph) DEC Newt Davis (St. Vincent Pal), 5-1
145 Harrison Trahan (McDonogh) TF Vincent Thuman (Calvert Hall), 17-2 3:34
145 Max Hammond (St. Pauls) F Will Riley (Archbishop Curl), 3:00

152 Joshua Laubach (Archbishop Curl) TF Tyler Mcdaniel (Mt. Carmel), 28-13 1:41
152 Garrett Fisk (Archbishop Spal) F Cole Brown (Gilman), 3:42
152 Alex Laveck (McDonogh) F Everette Mcduffie (St. Pauls), 3:50
152 Zach Phillips (Mt St Joseph) F Willam Gardner (St. Marys), 2:26

160 Dylan Blau (St. Pauls) F Rey Robinson (Glenelg Country), 0:22
160 Jonathan Short (Mt St Joseph) DEC Taylor Randolph (Loyola), 4-3
160 Tyler Savage (Archbishop Spal) F Jamie Rice (Boys Latin), 1:00
160 Dominic Solis (McDonogh) F Mikey Neal (Calvert Hall), 3:31

170 Justin Henry (Mt St Joseph) F Joey Shortt (Boys Latin), 4:00
170 Dustin Radford (Archbishop Spal) F Jeremy Cranston (Gilman), 1:14
170 Jason Litvak (Loyola) DEC Jerry Rosser (John Carroll), 5-3
170 Garrett Kappes (McDonogh) F Dominic Piazza (St. Pauls), 1:08

182 Jack Parr (St. Pauls) F Komyhar (ben) Asgari (Calvert Hall), 0:35
182 Ian Takas (Loyola) DEC Kevonte Beard (Gilman), 3-1
182 Jack Wimmer (McDonogh) DEC Blake Corum (St. Vincent Pal), 3-2
182 David Schultz (Mt St Joseph) F Carrington Scott (Boys Latin), 0:39

195 Austin Stith (Mt St Joseph) F Sam Koyfman (Gerstell), 0:29
195 Jarrell Mayo (Calvert Hall) DEC Mason Isaac (Boys Latin), 16-9
195 Alex Slodzinski (Gilman) DEC Mike Morris (St. Vincent Pal), 10-5
195 Jackson Bonitz (McDonogh) F Jylah Bah (Glenelg Country), 1:31

220 Keegan Rill (Mt St Joseph) F Mike Vargas (Archbishop Curl), 1:08
220 Mac Alban (Boys Latin) F Will Maigetter (Loyola), 4:19
220 Skyler Kessenich (Friends) F Vinny Tomarchio (Glenelg Country), 2:34
220 Parker Robinson (McDonogh) MD Thomas Kerner (St. Marys), 10-2

285 Isaac Righter (Mt St Joseph) F Jack Morton (Boys Latin), 0:28
285 Druw Van der werff (John Carroll) F Bennett Traurig (Loyola), 1:18
285 Jerold Gaither (Mt. Carmel) F Isaiah Mcgirt (Archbishop Curl), 4:59
285 Pj Mustipher (McDonogh) F Logan Johnson (St. Pauls), 1:10