The 2016-17 Varsity Sports Network Wrestlers of the Year, and Coach of the Year, may represent the most accomplished group we have ever honored.

Our Upper Weight Wrestler of the Year, Ethan Smith of Sparrows Point, is undefeated during two years in Maryland after transferring to the state from Pennsylvania prior to his junior year, including a pair of Maryland state titles and, recently a national championship at the FloNationals.

Bel Air’s Brent Lorin, our Lower Weight Wrester of Year, is just a sophomore and has completed back-to-back undefeated seasons which have produced consecutive state crowns. Lorin is now 90-0 in high school career.

The Coach of the Year is Mount St. Joseph’s Harry Barnabae who has restored the Gaels to their Glory Days, leading them to numerous tournament titles in 2016-17, including the MIAA and Maryland Independant States.

To read our profiles on all three honorees, click the links in the upper right hand corner of the page to navigate between the profiles.