Complete list of 114 honorees listed here; 80th annual UH celebration can be viewed on May 11th via live stream

HUNT VALLEY, Md., May 4, 2020 – McCormick & Company, Incorporated (NYSE: MKC), a global leader in flavor, today announced that its 80th annual McCormick Unsung Heroes Awards Ceremony will now be held as a virtual event on Monday, May 11, 2020. To date, the company has awarded more than $1.8 million in scholarships to student athletes.

For 80 years, nominees, parents or guardians, coaches and athletic directors have been invited to participate in the historic Unsung Heroes event. This year, given concerns around large events due to COVID-19, the company has decided to host a virtual event that will allow teammates, extended family, teachers, and friends to also join the event from their homes to celebrate their unsung hero. In lieu of a keynote speaker, the student-athletes being honored will hear a congratulatory message from Justin Tucker, Kicker for the Baltimore Ravens. Sports radio personality Scott Garceau, of 105.7 The Fan, will serve as emcee for the event, and music will be provided by DJ Kopec, the official DJ for the Baltimore Ravens Cheerleaders.

To join the event, please do so through the event’s landing page:

The event is scheduled from 6:30 p.m.-to 8 p.m. EST and will also be simulcasted on the home page of

The McCormick Unsung Heroes Banquet honors deserving student-athletes across all sports. A total of 114 high school seniors from 69 Baltimore area public, private, parochial and independent schools have been nominated. Two of the honorees – one male and one female – will receive the 2020 Charles Perry McCormick Scholarship, valued at $40,000 over four academic years. Two $7,500 scholarships and two $5,000 scholarships will be awarded to students for their efforts on and off the field, for a total of $105,000 in scholarships given to deserving students at the virtual event.

The Unsung Heroes program recognizes unselfish student-athletes and honors those who substantially contribute to the success of their school without receiving acclaim. Originally established in 1940 by former McCormick & Company Chairman Charles P. McCormick Sr., the program is reflective of McCormick & Company’s core belief in The Power of People.

The 2020 Unsung Heroes Award Honorees

Archbishop Curley High School – Julian Howard

Archbishop Spalding High School – Kyra Farley and Collin Berke

Baltimore City College High School – Julia Harrington and Ezra Crawford

Benjamin Franklin at Masonville Cove High School – Joanna Funes and Jehon Carroll

Boys’ Latin School of Maryland – Colby Weishaar

Bryn Mawr School – J’nai Knox

Calvert Hall College High School – Anthony Weis

Carver Vo-Tech High School – Aneisa Campbell and Kolby Farrar, Jr.

Catholic High School of Baltimore – Madelynne Mattare

Catonsville High School – Lily Mellendick and Evan Rogers

Chesapeake High School – Narcis Eustacia and Lance Haley

Concordia Preparatory School – Samantha Lassahn and Deonte Ferguson

Digital Harbor High School – Haydee Arevalo and Kenyon Parker

Dulaney High School – Emma Chandler and Owen Campbell

Dunbar High School – Yasmin Page and Dayvon Davis

Dundalk High School – Alyson Marshall and Joseph Delveccieo

Eastern Technical High School – Paris Morton and Matthew Haines

Edmondson-Westside High School – Juanima Vanzandt and Amir Simpson

Forest Park High School – Tiana Battle and Andre Hawkins

Franklin High School – Kate Lorber and Max Holzman

Frederick Douglass High School – Makilah McKnight and Tiyon Jenkins

Friends School of Baltimore – Rachel Freeman and Declan Budnitz

Garrison Forest School – Alice Baughman

George Washington Carver Center for Arts & Tech. – Sierra Raspa and Rahzel Khalif

Gilman School – Grant Carey

Hereford High School – Zoa Nicholson and John Wickiser

Institute of Notre Dame – Molly Kihn

Jemicy School – Jennifer Barnes and Myles Johnson

John Carroll School – Kate Gromacki and Garrett Phillips

Kenwood High School – Jada Malone and Austin Boothe

Lake Clifton High School – Cynthia Abalum and Tremaine Howard

Lansdowne High School – Madison Williams and Jacob Lipscomb

Loch Raven High School – Julie Rose and Mason Ayotte

Loyola Blakefield – Kaire Umoja

Maryvale Preparatory School – Amanda Commodari

McDonogh School – Allison Pitts and Spencer Pett

Mercy High School – Olivia Goodwin

Mergenthaler Vo-Tech High School – Dayla Rankin and Nate Pryor

Milford Mill Academy – Gia Edge and D’Andre Irby, Jr.

Mount de Sales Academy – Mackenzie Bell

Mount Saint Joseph High School – Nicholas Triplett

National Academy Foundation – Hazel Sorto-Diaz

New Era Academy – Jamal Cannady

New Town High School – Samuel Okezie-Imo

Notre Dame Preparatory School – Abigail Rudolph

Oldfields School – Olivia Davis

Our Lady of Mount Carmel – Demetra Conner and Connor Naunton

Overlea High School – Katelyn Glendon and Jerome Vonziah

Owings Mills High School – Maritriny Galvez-Ceron and Mike Reid

Parkville High School – Korianna Skinner and Da’Vaughn Curbeam

Patapsco High School – Logan Welsh and Cameron Hood

Patterson High School – Albania Pena-Guzman and Tyjaun Johnson

Perry Hall High School – Amanda Butz and Kaleb Todjo

Pikesville High School – Frances Glover-Bey and Rodney Olid

Randallstown High School – Jadia Roney and Syncere Brown

Reginald F. Lewis High School – Shawnice Anderson and Louis Johnson

Roland Park Country School – Krislyn Dorsey

Severn School – Eva Gormley and Michael Whiteside

Southwestern High School – Destiny Butler and Daniel Babb

Sparrows Point High School – Alaina Clay and Nathan Wynne

St. Frances Academy – Rajah Golden

St. Mary’s High School – Emma Driggs and Jimy Chinchilla-Contreras

St. Paul’s School – Thomas Linz

St. Paul’s School for Girls – Leah Johnson

St. Timothy’s School – Natalia Boumatar

Towson High School – Kendall Fragetta and Nicholas Miller

Western High School – Hallie Bridgers

Western School of Tech. & Env. Science – Troi Williams and Noah Peters

Woodlawn High School – D’Jahana Smith and George Washington