Moccia becomes first female champ, Linganore edges Sparrows Point for the team crown

by Billy Loverocket

John Carroll’s 106lber, Julianne Moccia, has enjoyed a season of firsts, and added to that a Warpath Invitational crown on Friday night at Franklin High School to become the first female wrestler to capture a title at the event. In December, Moccia became the first female champ at Parkville’s Knightmare Invitational.

Moccia was named the Outstanding Lightweight Wrestler of the tournament, coming in seeded sixth and storming through the bracket with two-pins and a major-decision in the finals, 12-4, over Woodlawn’s Kyle Davis.

The Patriots’ Matt Mitrega (No. 8 in the latest Maryland state rankings) won the 138lb crown, blanking Jerome Cannon (Woodlawn), 5-0. Cannon picked off No. 16 Luke Hoenig (Sparrows Point), 5-3, in the semifinals.

Linganore (No. 20) and Sparrows Point (No. 10) both had five finalists and three champions. The Point placed eleven guys to the Lancers’ ten, but still fell in the team race by a point and a half, 193.5-192.

Taking wall charts back to Frederick County were, No. 1 Earl Blake (132), No. 7 Dalton Pearl (160), and No. 4 Michael Bromley (182). Hayden Pankhurst (145) and No. 6 Joey Bromley (170) were second for Linganore.

Sean Mullineaux (106) and No. 23 Chase Schultz (195) placed third. Aiden Flint (4th at 120), Hope Baguio (220), and Bryce Carlini (113) round out the Lancers’ placers.

Sparrows Point grapplers capturing crowns were, No. 19 Wayne Brooks (113), No. 12 Mike Fouts (145) and Lex Carr (195).

Brooks won a close battle, 7-6, against Indian River’s Ian Shauback (No. 6 in the Delaware state rankings). Fouts made quick work of Linganore’s Pankhurst with a 34 second fall.

Carr came into the action unranked in the state but forced that to change with a 6-0 win over No. 23 David Schultz in the semis. In the finals, Carr planted Indian River’s Zach Shultz (No. 5 in DE) in the first period, 1:44.
Falling short in their title quests for the Point were Danny Davis (132) and Jake Lure (160). Grabbing bronze were Richard Davis (126) and Jake Rallo (170). Gage Carr was fifth at 120. Landing in the sixth spot were Mike Lewis (106), Luke Hoenig (138) and Dixon Reyes (182).

Hereford’s fifth-place finish was powered by one champion, Jimmy Kells (170). Kells, who is ranked fourth in Maryland, was one half of the most anticipated bout of the final round. On the other side of the mat stood No.6 Joey Bromley. Kells would walk away with a 7-4 victory.

The host school finished sixth and kept two titles in house, No. 18 Rob Garrett (220) and No. 5 Elijah Solomon (285). Solomon battled Indian River’s Rammond Turner (No. 5 in DE) in the finals, taking the crown with a 3-1 decision.

Centennial’s Jason Kraisser (No. 1) continued his march to a fourth state title tallying three falls, two in the first minute, in a dominating run to the 152lb crown. The senior flattened Franklin’s Rion Tyler at the 2:44 mark of the second period in the finals. The impressive run to his fourth Warpath title led to Kraisser being named the Outstanding Upperweight of the tournament.

VSN did not see the voting results for the Outstanding Wrestler awards, but one would have to figure, Arundel’s Caleb Chavez probably came in second on a lot of the lightweight ballots.

Chavez is listed in the “Others to watch” section of the rankings at 126. In the semifinals, Chavez got past No. 16 Richard Davis, 4-2. His finals opponent, Indian River’s Ta’Jon Knight was ranked fourth in Delaware. Chavez pushed all that aside and took home the crown with a 4-2 win.

Will Rayne (Indian River, No. 2 in DE) won the 120lb title bout with a 5-2 decision over Hereford’s Morgan Vandergrift (No. 25).

An interesting tidbit for the team race, Indian River is No. 3 in Delaware’s Division II rankings, and Woodbridge is No.4 in those rankings.

Pictured above: John Carroll’s Julianne Moccia stands at the top of the podium at Franklin’s Warpath Invitational after winning the 106 weight class.

Team Scores
1-Linganore 193.5
2-Sparrows Point 192
3-Woodbridge (DE) 179.5
4-Indian River (DE) 157.5
5-Hereford 147
6-Franklin 103
7-Centennial 100.5
8-Arundel 95.5
9-John Carroll 89.5
10-Meade 57
11-Boys’ latin 44
12-Perry Hall 29
13-Maurice J McDonough 15
14-Pope John Paul II (PA) 12

Individual Placements:

1st Julianna Moccia JOH
2nd Kyle Davis WOOD
3rd Sean Mullineaux LIN
4th Chris Saylor IND
5th Noah Traband HER
6th Mike Lewis SPP

1st Wayne Brooks SPP
2nd Ian Shauback IND
3rd Jack Amos HER
4th Chris Lee CENT
5th Cedric Tyson BL
6th Bryce Carlini LIN

1st Will Rayne IND
2nd Morgan Vandergrift HER
3rd Jamal Everette FRA
4th Aiden Flint LIN
5th Gage Carr SPP
6th Connor Meadows PH

1st Caleb Chavez ARU
2nd Ta’Jon Knight IND
3rd Richard Davis SPP
4th Ethan Bell HER
5th Jonny Webb WOOD
6th Kallen Thomas MEA

1st Earl Blake LIN
2nd Danny Davis SPP
3rd Cole Jones JOH
4th Gavin Manning WOOD
5th Zaid Narmouq CENT
6th Dasean Sharps MEA

1st Matt Mitrega JOH
2nd Jerome Cannon WOOD
3rd Malacai Davis MEA
4th Bruce Cornwell MJM
5th Joey McCampbell ARU
6th Luke Hoenig SPP

1st Mike Fouts SPP
2nd Hayden Parkhurst LIN
3rd Matthew Harris CENT
4th A’Shon Jackson WOOD
5th Tiger Colunga ARU
6th Ryne McMurdy HER

1st Jason Kraisser CENT
2nd Rion Tyler FRA
3rd Enrique Ramos WOOD
4th Mason Kinney MEA
5th Jaydon Bowden ARU
6th Zach Zaruba HER

1st Dalton Pearl LIN
2nd Jake Lure SPP
3rd Joseph Young PH
4th Ellis Cannon WOOD
5th Jacob Grab IND
6th Riley McClure BL

1st Jimmy Kells HER
2nd Joey Bromley LIN
3rd Jake Rallo SPP
4th Will Keller IND
5th Taeshaun Ford-Jackson WOOD
6th Wadeed Morcos CENT

1st Michael Bromley LIN
2nd Devon Thompson ARU
3rd Phoenix Dean WOOD
4th Kamil Patterson FRA
5th Howard Harris PH
6th Dixon Reyes SPP

1st Lexx Carr SPP
2nd Zach Shultz IND
3rd Chase Shultz LIN
4th Derrick Atwwod WOOD
5th Justin Waters BL
6th Nick Moore HER

1st Robert Garrett FRA
2nd Levis Contreras HER
3rd Hunter Young WOOD
4th J.T. Morton BL
5th Hope Baguio LIN
6th T.J. Burke IND

1st Elijah Solomon FRA
2nd Rammond Turner IND
3rd Josh Goodwin HER
4th Amir Conwell ARU
5th Bryce Hare JOH
6th Nick Yee CENT

Lightweight (106-145): Julianna Moccia of John Carroll (106) 1st female champion at Warpath
Heavyweight (152-285): Jason Kraisser of Centennial (152) 4x Warpath Champion