After a heart-breaking loss in the 2015 MIAA A Conference lacrosse championship game, McDonogh was absolutely dominant last spring, posting an 18-1 overall record and going undefeated in the MIAA as it won the school’s first league title since 2005.

The Eagles figure to be right back in the thick of things again in 2017, but to defend their title they will rely heavily on the leadership of 11 seniors and six returning starters.

“We will be a work in progress this year,” said head coach Andy Hilgartner.  “We lost some great players and great leaders. We also have a lot of good players that will need to get their game to the next level to give us the talent and depth we will need for the MIAA this year.”

Senior Jack Parr, the team’s leading returning scorer will be counted on to lead the way on offense, after scoring 41 goals and handing out 12 assists last year.

Hilgartner considers depth to be a team strength, but he feels the those who are returning need to elevate their level of play to give this squad the opportunity to match what the Eagles accomplished last year.

“We lost Medghalchi at defense and Lanier in the goal, but we return guys like Brandon Shure, BJ Farrare, Chris Smith and Rich Dion, so we should be solid defensively,” said Hilgartner. “I’m hoping that our depth in the midfield will allow us to run 2-3 goods lines.”

Ollie Abramson, a senior, and two sophomores will battle it out for the starting goalie job. Junior Jack Simmons and junior Andrew Hurdle will lead the first midfield.  The Eagles will have two new starting attackmen, with two juniors and two sophs fighting for those spots.


Head Coach: Andy Hilgartner (9th season, 112-40)

Players to Watch:
Brandon Shure, Sr. D (All State)
BJ Farrare, Jr., LSM (1st-Team All Metro, All state)
Jack Parr, Sr., Attack (Leading returning scorer, 41 goals and 12 assists in 2016)