In one corner of Gilman School, Friday afternoon, the Greyhounds lacrosse team was battling for its playoff life. On the next field over, the varsity baseball team was opening it’s run in the MIAA A Conference baseball tournament. And, in a woody enclave, almost hidden on the sprawling Roland Park campus, the Gilman tennis team was extending its dynasty in the MIAA A Conference.

With a 4-1 win over Calvert Hall in the MIAA A Conference championship match, Gilman (9-0) captured it’s fourth consecutive league title and its ninth overall, tying McDonogh for the most all-time in the MIAA.  

“To be MIAA champions four years in a row is just unbelievable,” said head coach Steve Krulevitz. “I couldn’t be more proud of the team and all their accomplishments this season. It is a true testament to their greatness and hard work on and off the court.”

The top-seed Greyhounds won two of the three singles matches and swept both doubles battles to retain the crown and complete an undefeated season.

In singles, No. 1 player Derrick Thompson was absolutely dominating in a 6-0, 6-0 win over Calvert Hall’s Ryan Lombardi. In No. 3 singles, Nick Boucher also won for the Greyhounds, 6-1, 4-6, 6-2 over Xavier Castellanos.

Calvert Hall’s Russell Willenborg picked up the Cardinals’ only win of the day, claiming a 6-2, 6-0 victory over Gilman’s Noah Jun.

In No. 1 doubles the Gilman team of Dylan Walkters and Piyush Mavanur won in straight sets, 6-2, 6-2, over Ian Hawes and Will Salotto. The Greyhounds’ No. 2 doubles team of Nate Shaw and Sam Sobkov needed three sets to win its match with Will Jeffreys and Tyler Mast, 6-7, 6-1, 6-4.