Day one leader shoots a one-under par 71 to win MIAA individual stroke play championship by five strokes

Michael Crowley

Carrying a one stroke lead into the second and final round of the 2019 MIAA Individual Stroke Play Golf Championships, Calvert Hall’s Michael Crowley shot a one-under par 71, Wednesday at Eagles Nest Country Club, and he went on to a five-stroke victory over three other golfers to win the championship.

Loyola’s Trent Geritz, who came into Wednesday’s action one-shot back of Crowley, shot a three-over par 75 and finished tied with St. Paul’s Lou Baker, who matched Crowley’s final round 71, and Brandon Wilson of St. Paul’s, who shot a 69 on Wednesday, the lowest round of the event. All three had a two-round score of 149, while Crowley posted a 144.

Crowley bogied the par 4 opening hole on Wednesday, but parred the next five before getting a birdie on the par 5 seventh hole to get back to even for the round. He then birdied holes eight and nine to post two-under par 34 on the front nine. On the back nine, he had a bogie on 11, a birdie on 12, and bogies on 13 and 15. He got one stroke back with a birdie on 17 and played the back nine with a one-over par 37.

“I’m extremely proud of Michael and the other two, Austin and Lorenzo, who finished in the Top 10,” said Calvert Hall coach Drew Forrester. “Michael is very talented. He keeps the game simple. I think we will see a lot more great golf from him in the future. He doesn’t have a ceiling.”

Archbishop Spalding’s Alec Foxen was fifth (153), while John Carroll’s Tristen Pattisall, Calvert Hall’s Austin Steckler and McDonogh’s Aaron Williams all finished tied for sixth (154).

The chart below shows the first and second round scores of each golfer which qualified for the final round.

Pictured above: Calvert Hall’s Michael Crowley who would go on to win the MIAA individual title, tees off on the first hole of the final round, Wednesday at Eagles Nest.

Michael Crowley CHC 71 73 144
Trent Geritz Loy 75 74 149
Lou Baker SP 71 78 149
Brandon Wilson SP 69 80 149
Alec Foxen Spald 74 79 153
Tristen Pattisall JC 79 75 154
Austin Steckler CHC 77 77 154
Aaron Williams McD 73 81 154
Grant Carey Gil 79 76 155
Jackson Halleron BL 79 77 156
John Wampler Spald 78 78 156
Ford Bennett McD 76 80 156
Lorenzo Sanz CHC 76 80 156
Ethan Jones Loy 76 82 158
David Borchard Spald 77 83 160
Joe Stover McD 78 83 161
Ronak Patel MSJ 82 80 162
Matt Smolka Loy 82 81 163
Pierce Shearin Loy 81 83 164
Patrick Rowland SP 82 83 165
Charlie Klein Gil 86 80 166
Phillip Maneval Spald 84 82 166
Parker Pearce Gil 88 83 171
Willie Wright BL 88 83 171
Trevor Martinez St. M 96 83 179