Cardinals bring home seven gold medals to top Gilman

For a second consecutive year, Calvert Hall College captured the title at the MIAA Indoor Track championships, as the Cardinals outscored Group Meet champion Gilman School, 163.83-109.5, Friday night at the Prince George’s Sports & Learning Complex. It marks the second straight year that Gilman has won the Group Meet crown only to be topped at the championships by the Cardinals.

Also on Friday at the Landover facility, Maryvale Prep won the IAAM A Conference title and Notre Dame Prep prevailed as the champions in the B Conference.

Calvert Hall came home seven gold medals for individual events, including a pair by long distance superstar Owen Johnson, who won the 1600 meters (4 minutes, 22.89 seconds) and 3200 Meters (9:35.11).

Sean Tucker, who is also a star running back for the Cardinal football team, won the 55 meters (6.46) and placed second in the 30. In addition, Tucker ran a leg, along with Rahkeem Smith, Jason Holmes-Williamson and Jhaden Sydnor on the championship 800 relay team (1:31.74).

Ty Trinh won the triple jump for Calvert Hall (45-05.50), while Thomas Smith IV, Ryan Moore, Ethan Sheridan and Ethan Berger won the 1,600 relay (3:35.79), and Ethan Sheridan, Kyle Zimmerman, Berger, and Adam Brocato took the 3,200 relay (8:34.92).

In addition, Thomas Smith IV (55 hurdles), Will DeMartin (high jump) and Sydnor (long jump) all won silver medals for second place efforts.

Gilman School, McDonogh School and Archbishop Curley each had individual champions.

JB Brooks won the 55 hurdles for Gilman (7.68) and Donnie Young took the long jump (21-04.75). For McDonogh, Owen and Spencer Pett each captured gold medals, with Owen taking the 500 (1:09.07) and Spencer running to glory in the 800, setting a conference record with his time of 1:56.24. For Curley, Ian Hoffman also set a conference record in winning the Pole Vault, clearing 13-6, and Samuel Burke won the shot put for the Friars (50-06.75).

The evenings other individual championships went to St. Vincent Pallotti’s Cal Hicks in the 300 (35.45) and Mount St. Joseph’s Kai Herbert in the high jump (6-0).

MIAA Varsity team scores:

1. Calvert Hall College, 163.83
2. Gilman School, 109.5
3. Mount St. Joseph 69.83
4. McDonogh School, 55.5
5. Archbishop Spalding 55
6. Loyola Blakefield, 33.33
7t. Archbishop Curley, 29
7t. St. Vincent Pallotti, 29
9. John Carroll School, 12
10. Glenelg Country School, 11
11. St. Mary’s, 9
12. Friends School, 8

MIAA individual champions

55 – Sean Tucker, Calvert Hall (6.46)

55 Hurdles – JB Brooks, Gilman (7.68)

300 – Cal Hicks, St. Vincent Pallotti (35.45)

500 – Owen Pett, McDonogh (1:09.07)

800 – Spencer Pett, McDonogh (1:56.24)*

1600 – Owen Johnson, Calvert Hall (4:22.89)

3200 – Owen Johnson, Calvert Hall (9:35.11)

800 relay – Calvert Hall (1:31.74; Rahkeem Smith, Sean Tucker, Jason Holmes-Williamson, Jhaden Sydnor)

1,600 relay – Calvert Hall (3:35.79; Thomas Smith IV, Ryan Moore, Ethan Sheridan, Ethan Berger)

3,200 relay – Calvert Hall (8:34.92; Ethan Sheridan, Kyle Zimmerman, Ethan Berger, Adam Brocato

High jump – Kai Herbert, Mount St. Joseph (6-00)

Long jump – Donnie Young, Gilman (21-4.75)

Pole vault – Ian Hoffman, Archbishop Curley (13-6)*

Shot put – Samuel Burke, Archbishop Curley (50-6.75)

Triple jump – Ty Trinh, Calvert Hall (45-5.50)

*Conference record

Click here for the complete team-by-team and event-by-event individual results