Cardinals work indoors and out to earn their third straight MIAA Championship Meet title

2021-22 MIAA

With COVID-19 once again robbing MIAA indoor track athletes of most of their opportunities to compete to during the 2021-22 regular season, they were able to salvage the championship meet in hybrid format, Saturday at Loyola Blakefield.

With an unseasonable warm February day providing an assist, most of the competition was actually held outdoors, with the pole vault being the only event to actually take place inside.

None of that seemed to matter to Calvert Hall, which captured the team title, which they added to the crowns they won at this event in 2019-20 and 2020-21, to give them three straight. The indoor championships were not conducted at all last year.

The Cardinals won titles in seven events, including six on the track, to accumulated 158.5 points.

In addition to victories in the 4×800 (8:24.85) and 4×200 (1:31.55) relays, the Cardinals won four track races. Thomas Smith won the 55 Hurdles (7.36), Raheem Smith raced to the 55 Dash (6.51) title, Charlie Dance outlast the field in the 1600 Meters (4:25.64) and Jameir Colbert was victories in the 500 Meters (1:05.01).

Garik Pozecki also captured the Shot Put for the Cardinals with a distance of 53-07.00.

Mount St. Joseph (110 points) finished second in the team standings, but the Gaels only individual title came in the 4×800 relay (3:32.82).

Gilman (104 points) had four champions with two coming from Donovan Young in the Long Jump (22-05.00) and Triple Jump (46-00.00). The other Greyhound winners were JB Brooks in the 300 Meters (36.10) and Pieter Heesters in the 3200 Meters (9:48.42).

The other three individual champions were Loyola’s Jack Wacher in the Pole Vault (11-06.00), Archbishop Spalding’s Max Moss in the High Jump (6-02.00) and McDonogh’s Owen Nett in the 800 Meters (2:00.38).

The teams scores are below. Click here for the Full Results.

Team Scores
1. Calvert Hall 158.5
2. Mount St. Joseph 110
3. Gilman 104
4. Loyola Blakefield 75
5. Archbishop Spalding 50
6. McDonogh 31
7. Archbishop Curley 16.5
8. St. Vincent Pallotti 14
9. St. Paul’s 11
10. John Carroll 9
11. Glenelg Country 4
12. Chapelgate Christian 1
12. St. John’s Catholic Prep 1