Baltimore Catholic League to honor longtime Towson Catholic basketball coach

The Baltimore Catholic League will welcome 11 members to its Hall of Fame, Thursday May 3 at Turf Valley in Howard County.

Former Towson Catholic coach Mike Daniel, who ended his 32-year career on the sidelines this past season, will be the fifth coach inducted. Daniel won 361 games and four BCL titles in 20 seasons before stepping down in 2005. He went onto City College, Severn School and New Town, winning four state public championship (two each at City and New Town).

Eight former players – Jake Davalli (Calvert Hall College), Bob Fornoff (Archbishop Curley), Shawn Hampton (St. Frances Academy), Delmar Harrod (Mount St. Joseph), Kenny Johnson (Loyola Blakefield), Quintin Moody (Cardinal Gibbons), Mark Scallion (St. Maria Goretti) and Teddy Walker (Towson Catholic) – will be inducted.

Jim “Snuffy” Smith, a 1960 Loyola graduate who served as BCL commissioner from 1988 to 1993, will be enshrined along with Dick Dohler. Kohler starred Mount St. Joseph in the early 1960s before a stellar collegiate career at Mount St. Mary’s.

Coach Ryan Odom, who guided UMBC to NCAA Tournament history last month as the Retrievers became the first 16th seed to defeat a No. 1 seed (Virginia), will be guest speaker.

Regarded as one of the country’s top high school leagues, the Baltimore Catholic League was formed in 1971. The BCL established a Hall of Fame in 2011, to honor past players, coaches, administrators and contributors.

The banquet is open to the public, with tickets $75 per person and $750 per table of 10.

For ticket information, contact Mark Rohde Sr. at 410-963-0534 or Tickets can be purchased online at

Baltimore Catholic League Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

When: Thursday May 3

Time: 6:30

Where: Turf Valley Inn

Inductees: Jake Davalli (Calvert Hall College, Class of 1990), Dick Dohler (Mount St. Joseph; Legend inductee); Bob Fornoff (Archbishop Curley, 1982), Shawn Hampton (St. Frances Academy, 1998), Delmar Harrod (Mount St. Joseph, 1976), Kenny Johnson (Loyola Blakefield, 1981), Quintin Moody (Cardinal Gibbons, 1992), Mark Scallion (St. Maria Goretti, 1983), Jim “Snuffy Smith (Contributor inductee; former BCL Commissioner), Teddy Walker (Towson Catholic, 1973)