The best and brightest in high school football from throughout the Central Maryland region were honored at the annual Baltimore Touchdown Club Super 22 Banquet held Tuesday evening at Michael’s Eighth Avenue in Glen Burnie.

More than 450 guests were on hand to honor 18 adult award winners and 63 Super 22 athletes, the area’s top rising senior football players.

WMAR newscaster Jamie Costello served as master of ceremonies and University of Maryland Associate Head Football Coach Mike London gave an inspiring keynote address.

Mike LondonLondon, a former head coach at the University of Richmond and the University of Virginia, urged the young athletes to use the parents, coaches and mentors in their life as directional posts in their journey to achieving their goals.

“If I asked you where you want to end up, you would all probably say the league,” said London. “It’s easy to see where you want to be, but if life were like a GPS, you would have to first state where you are now. Between where you are now and where you want to be there are many roads. The people in your life can point you in the direction but you have to value their advice.

“If you are deficient in an area, and fellas you surround yourself with people that demonstrate the things you want to obtain or gain, because of their strengths, the difference between knowledge and ignorance, you start to close that gap. Ignorance, I am not talking about being dumb; it’s just a lack of not knowing. When you surround yourself with positive people, you surround yourself with your circle of influence that are operating in their strengths, whatever deficiency you may have, it becomes smaller.”

2016 Baltimore Touchdown Club Super 22 Adult Award Winners

Coaches of the Year
Howard County
Bruce Strunk – Howard
Frederick County
Rick Conner – Linganore
Joe Polce – Walkersville
Baltimore County
Sean Dandora – Dundalk
Anne Arundel County
Rob Elliott – Chesapeake
Keith Rawlings – John Carroll
Baltimore City
Larry Mitchell – Patterson

Assistant Coaches of the Year
Byron Charles Jones – Milford Mill
Jason Wohlfarth – Broadneck
Bill Lewis – John Carroll
Joe McCulloh – Marriotts Ridge

Service Within the BTC Organization
Jamie Willis – Long Reach
Elwood Townsend – Reginald Lewis

Service Outside the BTC Organization
Dwight Weems – Fox 45
Eric Wade – Suitland-PG County Coaches Association

Official of the Year
Wayne E. Owens, Sr. – Maryland Board of Officials

Youth Football Coaches of the Year
Brian Young – GORC Football
Larry Brown – Old Mill Youth Football

Service to Youth Football Outside the BTC Association
Will Dunmore – Howard County Recreation & Parks

Media Person of the Year
Steve Davis and Ed Norris – 105.7 The Fan

Special Achievement Award
Brooks Barnard – Under Armour

Administrator of the Year
Jeff Parsons – Athletic Director, Archbishop Spalding

Augie Waibel Legends Award
Ken “Speedy” Johnson

George Young Lifetime Achievement Award
Bill McGregor – DeMatha/Gilman/St. Frances

Personality of the Year & Keynote Speaker
Mike London – Associate Head Coach, University of Maryland

Super 22 Team

Evan Fochtman, QB – Archbishop Spalding
Tyler Raines, QB – Long Reach
Darrius Sample, QB – Dundalk
Rodney Dorsey, WR – Tuscarora
Niko Rice, WR – John Carroll
Christian Thornton, WR – Arundel
Chris Watts, WR – Broadneck
Percy Agyei-Obese, RB – Oakdale
Devin Darrinton, RB – John Carroll
Chad Gleason, RB – Walkersville
Trevor Henigan, RB – Loyola
Malique McGriff, RB – McDonogh
Braden Atkinson, TE – Boys’ Latin
Mason Baker, TE – Reservoir
Chandler Breeden, TE – Manchester Valley
Mason Clark, TE – Old Mill
Jake Brown, OL – Archbishop Curley
Dakota Davis, OL – Glenelg
Damian Jackson, OL – Patterson
Jordan McNair, OL – McDonogh
Ryan McNeal, OL – Broadneck
Gianluca Parrotta, OL – Dulaney
Sam Rothstein, OL – Century
Mark Shekletski, OL – Urbana
Alec Stores, OL – Linganore
Ben Stoy, OL – St. Mary’s

Special Teams
Nicholas Bishop, Athlete – Thomas Johnson
Cameron Edwards, Athlete – Edmondson-Westside
Michael Gibson, Athlete – Franklin
Ian Gould, K – Westminster
Gavin Locklear, K – Eastern Tech
Dwayne Mclaurin, Athlete – Mervo
Brock Sassler, Long Snapper – Boys’ Latin
Brandon Thomas, Athlete – Eastern Tech
Jamar Williams, Athlete – South Carroll
Christopher Woodward, Athlete – Patterson

Brandon Cooper, DT – Milford Mill
Jquane Harris, DT – Milford Mill
Devin Miller, DT – Archbishop Spalding
Mike Nash, DT – Hereford
Vinnie Shaffer, DT – Archbishop Spalding
Sam Count, DE – Atholton
Darnell Creek, DE – Broadneck
Victor Dimukeje, DE – Boys’ Latin
Cameron Hough, DE – Annapolis
Muddy Mchemba, DE – Howard
B.J. Morgan, DE – Mount St. Joseph
Marcell Allen, LB – Milford Mill
Devin Beck, LB – Linganore
Gregory Benton, LB – Long Reach
Henry Cook, LB – South Carroll
Antonio Dicerbo, LB – Gilman
Tyshon Fogg, LB – Calvert Hall
Andrew Frailer, LB – McDonogh
Durrell Johnson, LB – Overlea
Chrys Lane, LB – Dundalk
Nick Vermillion, LB – Archbishop Spalding
Bryson Craven, DB – Howard
Drew Enrlich, DB – Gilman
Lincoln Ikwubuo, DB – South Hagerstown
Spencer Kirin, DB – Liberty
Kenny Lewis, DB – Loyola
Joshua Turner, DB – Franklin