All 11 teams in A Conference, as well as all eight in B and C Conferences will qualify for their respective post season tournament

by Gary Adornato

The 2021 MIAA lacrosse season, which was not a certainty to even take place as late as February of this year, has been as exciting and unpredictable as any in recent memory. The post-season figures to take things up even a notch further.

Traditionally, just six teams qualify for the playoffs in each conference, with the top two seeds gaining byes to the semifinals. In 2021, however, all of the teams in each conference will qualify for their respective post-season, competing in a single-elimination tournament.

The decision was made to give all member schools as many opportunities to compete as possible, considering the early cancellation of the 2020 season and the lack of non-conference game opportunities this spring because of the COVID-19 Pandemic.

In the A Conference, which has 11 teams, there will be three first round games with the winners advancing to quarterfinals where the top five seeds will be waiting. The first two rounds (May 13 and 15) will be played on the home fields of the higher seeds, with the semifinals (May 18) and finals (May 21) being played at Navy-Marine Corps Stadium in Annapolis.

With as competitive as the league has been thus far this season and the fact that the top two seeds will have to play in the quarterfinal round, almost anything is possible.

The B and C Conferences feature eight teams each, so their tournaments will begin on Friday, May 14 with the quarterfinal rounds, with their semifinals will take place on May 18. The C Conference Championship Game will be played on Thursday, May 20 at a site to be announced, while the B Conference title game will be at Navy-Marine Corps Stadium, prior to the A Conference final on Friday, May 21.

Below are the brackets for each conference, as the race to determine the seeds continues.

2021 A Lacrosse Bracket
2021 B Lacrosse Bracket
2021 C Lacrosse Bracket